The Vanguard Play by Post Roleplaying Game
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

INTRODUCTION!

2 posters

Go down

INTRODUCTION! Empty INTRODUCTION!

Post  Admin Wed Sep 23 2020, 08:37

Hi, I'm Paul, the GM of this new campaign. This game is set in 1950s America that never was, which leads to my...

DISCLAIMER! I'm not an expert on the 1950s (I wasn't around until a couple of decades later) or on American life (haven't yet been to the US, maybe next year?) so there will be inaccuracies or things that are downright wrong! I'm not above or immune to being set right so please, please, please steer me in the right direction if you think something 'isn't right'.

As far as I know in the 1950s Superheroes were on the wane with only half a dozen or so still in print by the middle of the decade after the McCarthy era of politics and introduction of the Comics Code Authority which neutered comics to represent a way of life that was somewhat rose tinted and removed from real life.

The game will be set in an era after World War II with the world getting back on its feet. There are costumed vigilantes and superhuman abilities but they are few and far between. This world is separate and distinct from the main campaign line of the Vanguard but we've dimension hopped before (many times) and cross overs will most likely happen depending on circumstances.

The game will take the format of play by post using House Rules of the DC Heroes Role Playing Game (more specifically the Blood of Heroes second edition which used the DC Heroes game mechanics). This is out of print but can be bought (cheap) usually in the usual places. For instance last month I bought a copy of the rules for £0.99 plus postage, they are out there!

You don't need to know the rules!

In a 'round' of action characters can perform one each of the following:

A movement action. Move up to your characters' movement rate in a round (of 4 seconds duration)